EN

Russian

Chinese

Cart: 0

Your Bag

Your shopping bag is empty.

You have no items in your wish list.

+7 800 250 1907

A Brief History of the AU PONT ROUGE Department Store

PURCHASE OF THE LAND

The history of the building of the Au Pont Rouge department store ("At the Red Bridge") in its modern form begins in 1905, when the representatives of the board of the famous Belgian-Dutch trading firm "S.Esders and K.Scheefhals", the world supplier of ready-made women's and men's dresses, bought plot of land and a corner house on the embankment of the Moika River, 73, and Gorokhovaya Street, 15.

In the same year, the Belgian-Austrian entrepreneur Stefan Esders and his partner and nephew Karl/Charles Scheefhals of the Netherlands applied for permission to build a five-story building with an attic for a modern trading house.

Permission was received, and in the period 1906-1907 at the Red Bridge under the project of St. Petersburg architects Vladimir Alexandrovich Lipsky and Konstantin Nikolaevich de Rochefort erected an unusual structure of the trading house "S.Esders and K.Scheefhals."

Stefan Esders

Stefan Esders (1852-1920)

Красный мост

Red bridge. View of the block before the construction of the building
of the department store "Esders and Scheefhals" (1900).

Здание училища глухонемых у Красного моста (1900-1905)

The building of the deaf-mute school
near the Red Bridge (1900-1905)

 

CONSTRUCTION OF THE BUILDING, FEATURES OF DECORATION

The basis of the art nouveau building was a massive metal frame weighing 70,000 poods (1,147 tons), the idea of which Rochefort borrowed from the recently opened building of the company "Singer" on Nevsky Prospekt, an original example of a combination of Paris and New York styles.

However, the building on the Moika is more modest, all the magnificent details are moved upward. The bottom of the house is something in tune with modern architecture, huge rectangular windows and rather narrow piers. On the fourth floor - window openings with a semicircular completion, on the fifth - double windows, and the attic floor was decorated with windows of a horseshoe shape.

Water lilies are depicted over the windows of the fourth floor, on the piers - garlands descending from the medallions. The facade from the side of the Moika River ends with a low attic with the names of the owners.

The original cut off corner of the house creates the impression of a smooth transition from Gorokhovaya Street to the embankment of the Moika River. The corner of the house was originally crowned by a tall spire [1], which bedecked the Trading House "At the Red Bridge".

After completion of works, the acceptance authority committee noted that the building of a commercial enterprise on the corner plot No. 73/15 of the right bank of the Moika and Gorokhovaya Street fully complies with the modern requirements of a large shopping center.

Вид набережных Мойки с Красного моста

View of the embankments from the Red Bridge (1890-1900)

Торговый дом «Эсдерс и Схейфальс» (1908)

Trading house "Esders and Scheefhals" (1908)

Source: Iroshnikov M.P., Shelayev Y.B., Protsai L.A, Before the Revolution. St. Petersburg in Photographs: 1890-1914, Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers, New York, Nauka Publishers, Leningrad, JV Smart, Leningrad, 1991

 

FIRST MULTISTAGE SHOP IN RUSSIA

With its design and convenient placement of shopping and showrooms, storage and office premises, the building fully complied with the standards of the best European department stores of the early 20th century.

At the same time, the building became the first multi-storey store in Russia.

For ten years, until 1917, the Trading House on the Moika was considered the most fashionable and rich trading enterprise, offering comfortable conditions and a wide range of goods for wealthy buyers of St. Petersburg. It was a chic, spacious, light-flooded grand magasin, where everything was sold, from lace and gloves to cloaks and hats.

Among the customers of the store were members of the imperial family, including the Empress Alexandra Feodorovna, the wife of Nicholas II.

Торговый дом «Эсдерс и Схейфальс

Trade House "Esders and Scheefhals" 1913 Source: "Petersburg through the Century", author: Karl Bulla

У Красного моста (1913)

At the Red Bridge (1913)

 

SEWING FACTORY

After the October Revolution, the building abandoned by the owners was empty for a year and a half until in July 1919 the Council of the National Economy of the Northern District of Petrograd passed a decision to transfer the building of the store to the Central Garment Factory. In 1922, this Leningrad production was given the name of the Soviet commissar V. Volodarsky, who was a tailor before the revolution.

In September 1928, the shop sewing ladies' clothing of the factory named in honor of Volodarsky was assigned to an independent factory "Bolshevichka", which became one of the most famous Soviet consumer goods industry enterprises.

In 1992, the enterprise was reorganized into CJSC "Clothes Factory of St. Petersburg" (trade mark FOSP).

Портной и закройщик снимают мерки с клиента

Trade house "Esders and Scheefhals" on the Moika.

Tailor and apparel cutter take measurements from the client (1908)

Река Мойка и Красный мост

River Moika and the Red Bridge (1910-1913)

 

The Building during the Soviet Period

In 1930s the steeple of the building was destroyed and several versions of this action appeared. The first runs that many Leningrad buildings of the Art Nouveau and Eclectic periods were deprived of their steeples. The last prevented the transmission of the television signal. According to another version, frequent leaking became the reason of the removal. Moreover, the steeple could have been destroyed to improve the Gorokhovaya Street and Admiralty building appearance.

As well, in 1960s the glass dome (roof lantern) was taken apart.

It stands to mention, that the buildings of “Esders & Sheyfals” company were also situated in Wroclaw, Vienna, Brussels and Paris, however, only Saint-Petersburg and Paris buildings have remained up to this day. The last serves as C&A department store.

Петроград

Petrograd. The patrol of the military-revolutionary committee on the Red Bridge (1917)

The Source: Photos from the Book “History of the Civil War in USSR“, vol.2, 1943

Улица Дзержинского

Dzerzhinskogo Street, Moyka River Embarkment (1960 – 1966)

The Source: Briazgin V.N., Stukalov B. N. Photobook “Leningrad melodies”. Pub. “Soviet Artist”, Leningrad 1966

Набережные реки Мойки, Красный мост

Moyka River Embarkment, Red Bridge (1930s)

У Красного моста (1920-е годы)

Au Pont Rouge (1920s)

The Source: Book “Architectural Panoramas of the Neva’s Banks”

Движение троллейбусов по улице Дзержинского

Trams Movement in Dzerzhinskogo Street. May, 30 1944

The Photographer V. Fedoseev. The Source: http://jabberwoker.livejournal.com/11875.html

Мойка у Красного моста (1925-1930)

Moyka River at the Red Bridge (1925-1930)

Швейная фабрика им. В.Володарского у Красного моста (1989)

Sewing Factory n.a. V. Volodarsky at the Red Bridge (1989)

 

Reconstruction of the Building

In 2009-2014 the building was reconstructed by “BTK Development”. In particular, the following elements were restored: the tower with the steeple in the form of caduceus (staff carried by Mercurius, the patron of commerce); golden inscriptions in French and Russian (the spelling is preserved in pre-reform, pre-revolutionary writing - for example, "Tuzhurki"); and the attic with the owners’ names.

None of the exact drawing of the steeple is preserved, so it has been recreated after the drafts and photographs. However, the size of it is exactly the same as it was in the original - 29 meters in height.

The building is an architectural monument of federal significance and it is included in the UNESCO world heritage site "Historic Center of Saint-Petersburg".

Универмаг Au Pont Rouge

Au Pont Rouge Department Store (2017)

 

Additional Information:

С.Зуев «Течет река Мойка. Правый берег от Невского проспекта до устья», М.-СПб, Центрполиграф, 2014

А.Мухин «Почему в Петербурге возобновился архитектурный спор вековой давности» журнал «Город 812», 23.08.2012 г., online812.ru/2012/08/23/001/

Между цветными мостами. От Зелёного моста к Синему: прогулка по Мойке (часть 2) http://www.mishanita.ru/2012/11/15/17887/



[1]   Кивер – в архитектуре барокко стран восточной Европы – вычурное перекрытие, соединяющее элементы купола, шатра и шпиля.

RU

Корзина

Ваша корзина пуста.

Краткая история здания Универмага AU PONT ROUGE

Покупка участка земли

История здания универмага Au Pont Rouge («У Красного Моста») в его современном виде начинается с 1905 года, когда представители правления знаменитой бельгийско-голландской торговой фирмы «С.Эсдерс и К.Схейфальс», мирового поставщика готового женского и мужского платья, купили участок и угловой дом на набережной реки Мойки, д. 73, и Гороховой улице, д. 15.

В том же году бельгийско-австрийский предприниматель Стефан Эсдерс (Stefan Esders) и его партнер и племянник Карл Схефальс (Karl/Charles Scheefhals) из Нидерландов подали прошение о позволении им постройки пятиэтажного с мансардой здания для современного торгового дома.

Разрешение было получено, и в период 1906-1907 годов у Красного моста по проекту петербургских архитекторов Владимира Александровича Липского и Константина Николаевича де Рошефора возвели необычное строение торгового дома «С.Эсдерс и К.Схейфальс».

Стефан Эсдерс

Стефан Эсдерс (1852-1920)

Красный мост

Красный мост. Вид квартала до постройки здания универмага «Эсдерс и Схейфальс» (1900г.)

Здание училища глухонемых у Красного моста (1900-1905)

Здание училища глухонемых у Красного моста (1900-1905)

 

Постройка здания, особенности декора

Основу спроектированного в стиле модерн здания составлял массивный металлический каркас весом в 70 000 пудов (1 147 тонн), идею которого Рошефор позаимствовал у недавно открывшегося здания компании «Зингер» на Невском проспекте, оригинального примера сочетания парижского и нью-йоркского стилей.

Однако здание на Мойке несколько скромнее, все пышные детали убраны наверх. Низ дома чем-то созвучен современной архитектуре, огромные прямоугольные окна и довольно узкие простенки. На четвертом этаже – оконные проемы с полукруглым завершением, на пятом – сдвоенные окна, а мансардный этаж украсили окнами подковообразной формы.

Над окнами четвертого этажа изображены кувшинки, на простенках – спускающиеся от медальонов гирлянды. Фасад со стороны реки Мойки завершается невысоким аттиком с именами владельцев.

Оригинальный срезанный угол дома создает впечатления плавного перехода от Гороховой улицы к набережной реки Мойки. Угол дома изначально венчал высокий кивер[1], ставший украшением Торгового дома «У Красного моста».

После завершения работ приемочная авторитетная комиссия отметила, что здание торгового коммерческого предприятия на угловом участке № 73/15 правого берега Мойки и Гороховой улицы полностью соответствует современным требованиям крупного торгового центра.

Вид набережных Мойки с Красного моста

Вид набережных Мойки с Красного моста (1890-1900)

Торговый дом «Эсдерс и Схейфальс» (1908)

Торговый дом «Эсдерс и Схейфальс» (1908)

Источник: Iroshnikov M.P., Shelayev Y.B., Protsai L.A, Before the Revolution. St.Petersburg in Photographs: 1890-1914, Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers, New York, Nauka Publishers, Leningrad, JV Smart, Leningrad, 1991

 

Первый многоэтажный магазин в России

Своей планировкой и удобным размещением торговых и демонстрационных залов, складских и офисных помещений здание полностью соответствовало стандартам лучших европейских универсальных магазинов начала ХХ века.

При этом здание стало первым в России многоэтажным магазином.

В течение десяти лет, до 1917 года Торговый дом на Мойке считался самым модным и богатым торговым предприятием, предлагавшим комфортные условия и широкий товарный ассортимент для состоятельных покупателей Петербурга. Это был шикарный, просторный, залитый светом grand magasin, где продавалось буквально все, от кружев и перчаток до манто и шляп.

Среди клиентов магазина были члены императорской семьи, включая императрицу Александру Федоровну, супругу Николая II.

Торговый дом «Эсдерс и Схейфальс

Торговый дом «Эсдерс и Схейфальс» 1913 Источник: «Петербург сквозь столетие», автор: Карл Булла

У Красного моста (1913)

У Красного моста (1913)

 

Швейная фабрика

После Октябрьского переворота, покинутое владельцами здание пустовало полтора года, пока в июле 1919 года совет народного хозяйства Северного района Петрограда не вынес решение о передаче здания магазина Центральной швейной фабрике. В 1922 году этому ленинградскому производству присвоили имя советского комиссара В. Володарского, бывшего до революции портным.

В сентябре 1928 года цех пошива дамской одежды фабрики им. В. Володарского был выделен в самостоятельную фабрику «Большевичка», ставшую один из самых известных советских предприятий легкой промышленности.

В 1992 году предприятие преобразовано в ЗАО «Фабрика одежды Санкт-Петербург» (торговая марка FOSP).

Портной и закройщик снимают мерки с клиента

Торговый дом «Эсдерс и Схейфальс» на Мойке.

Портной и закройщик снимают мерки с клиента (1908)

Река Мойка и Красный мост

Река Мойка и Красный мост (1910-1913)

 

История здания в советское время

Существует несколько версий, почему шпиль здания был уничтожен в 1930-х годах. По одной из них, многие здания эпохи модерна и эклектики в Ленинграде лишились своих шпилей, так как они мешали прохождению телевизионного сигнала. По другой версии причиной сноса стали регулярные протечки. Также существовала версия демонтажа шпиля для придания лучшего внешнего вида Гороховой улице и Адмиралтейству.

В 1960-х годах был разобран и стеклянный купол (световой фонарь).

Стоит отметить, что также компанией «Эсдерс и Схейфальс» были построены здания во Вроцлаве, Вене, Брюсселе и Париже, однако, сохранить удалось только Петербургское и Парижское, в котором сейчас находится универмаг С&A.

Петроград

Петроград. Патруль военно-революционного комитета на Красном мосту (1917)

Источник: Фото из книги "История Гражданской войны в СССР", т. 2, 1943 г.

Улица Дзержинского

Улица Дзержинского, набережная реки Мойки (1960-1966)

Источник: Брязгин В. Н., Стукалов Б. Н. Фотоальбом «Ленинградские мелодии», Изд. «Советский художник», Л-д, 1966

Набережные реки Мойки, Красный мост

Набережные реки Мойки, Красный мост (1930-е годы)

У Красного моста (1920-е годы)

У Красного моста (1920-е годы)

Источник: Книга «Архитектурные панорамы Невских берегов»

Движение троллейбусов по улице Дзержинского

Движение троллейбусов по улице Дзержинского. 30 мая 1944 года.

Фотограф В. Федосеев. Источник фото: http://jabberwoker.livejournal.com/11875.html

Мойка у Красного моста (1925-1930)

Мойка у Красного моста (1925-1930)

Швейная фабрика им. В.Володарского у Красного моста (1989)

Швейная фабрика им. В.Володарского у Красного моста (1989)

 

Воссоздание здания

В 2009-2014 годах здание было отреставрировано компанией «БТК-Девелопмент». В том числе воссоздана башня со шпилем в виде кадуцея (жезла Меркурия, бога торговли), восстановлены золоченые надписи на русском (орфография сохранена в дореформенном, дореволюционном написании – например, «тужурки») и французском языках, а также аттик с именами владельцев.

Ни одного точного чертежа шпиля не сохранилось, поэтому он воссоздан по эскизам и фотографиям. Но размер у него точно такой же как был в оригинале – 29 метров в высоту.

Здание является памятником архитектуры федерального значения и находится в границах объекта Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО «Исторический центр Санкт-Петербурга».

Универмаг Au Pont Rouge

Универмаг Au Pont Rouge (2017)

 

Дополнительная информация:

С.Зуев «Течет река Мойка. Правый берег от Невского проспекта до устья», М.-СПб, Центрполиграф, 2014

А.Мухин «Почему в Петербурге возобновился архитектурный спор вековой давности» журнал «Город 812», 23.08.2012 г., online812.ru/2012/08/23/001/

Между цветными мостами. От Зелёного моста к Синему: прогулка по Мойке (часть 2) http://www.mishanita.ru/2012/11/15/17887/



[1]   Кивер – в архитектуре барокко стран восточной Европы – вычурное перекрытие, соединяющее элементы купола, шатра и шпиля.